21 March, 2011 [The Director’s Journal]

Posted on March 22, 2011

0


Today was a good day. I am almost done updating my script with all the improv we had on set. This process has answered a question that’s been puzzling me for quite some time. Am I really making a short film? The Green Bandits was meant to be a 25 minute film. My screenplay was 25 pages and at 1 minute a page, I was set. Production began and we shot over 12 days, the longest shoot lasting 17 hard hours. We were supposed to shoot for 6 days.

I have to admit that this is my first real screenplay. Sure, I’ve written tons of stories before, but never something I planned on making into a film. In my stories, I have tons of action sequences rolled up into single paragraphs of awesomeness. When I read it, I can imagine all the action happening instantaneously and it’s great. But when I translate it onto a screen… Oh Boy! does one single paragraph unfold into more than a minute of screen time.  I rewrote these sequences to better reflect the time they’d occupy on screen. Now my screenplay spans over 40 pages.  That’s more than 40 minutes that I’ve already filmed. No wonder it took 12 days. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences recognizes any film > 40 minutes as a feature length film. Now I realize that I may have accidentally made my first feature film. And I am not sure if I should feel exalted or a little scared.

Author: Neehar Cherabuddi

 

